Wild confessions of a professional flutist.

I Quit Flute

An amazing young colleague recently had this as her Facebook status:

  • I quit flute.

Her friends responded with comments like, “Oh, no, you are SO GOOD!” or, “Don’t quit!!!” and “Nooooo!”

My response?  Do it.  (But, it’s not what you think. . .)

The late, great, Ed Gobrecht – bassoonist, conductor, educator, master inspirer – once horrified a group of undergraduate music majors at Ithaca College by recommending that we all take a month off from our instrument every summer.  His point was that no other professionals practice every day for their entire lives and everyone needs a break in order to avoid boredom, stagnation, and injury.  Professional athletes take a break in the off-season.  Surgeons, lawyers, and engineers take vacation time.  Writers and artists take time off to seek inspiration.  Why should musicians be compelled to never take a break, or feel guilty for leaving their instrument at home when going on vacation?

“But, my tone will go out the window!”  Or, “I’ll lose my technique!!”

Gobrecht said that it will all come back and will very likely end up being better than before.  Why?  Because the break was refreshing, invigorating, perhaps even inspiring.  And, returning to your instrument will feel like reuniting with an old friend.

One month before taking graduate school auditions, I travelled to Mexico for a week with my husband (and no flute!).  I planned my practicing prior to the trip so that I would be ready to audition before I left.  I planned a week of embouchure exercises and regrouping when I returned, and that gave me three weeks to polish my auditions.  I returned refreshed, excited, and on a mission to have some amazing auditions – then got accepted to my top two schools.

So, my amazing young colleague, do it.  Quit.  Go hiking with friends or roll in some sand.  Eat a fancy meal and visit a museum.  Give yourself a few days of not being a flutist.  Then, pick the thing back up.  You will be excited to get back to work, and your practice time will take on a whole new enthusiastic meaning.

1280

(Here’s a photo of me with Ed Gobrecht at the Ithaca College band reunion, just one year prior to Gobrecht’s death.  His inspiration lives on.)

Comments on: "I Quit Flute" (8)

  1. This is so true. I’ve heard the opposite many times from many teachers but I have to say I never agreed. They used to say to only ever take a week off, if any. It’s nonsense, everybody needs a holiday.

  2. Reblogged this on Jason Lyon's Jazz Site and commented:
    Some excellent thoughts here from Trisha Craig (a wild flautist – oh, yes they can be, y’know, don’t be fooled!)

  3. I’ll use this to explain to Marcus why I took a little break from piano 😉
    Best wishes
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

Purely Social Media

Social Media Management the Easy Way!

Hollis Easter

Wild confessions of a professional flutist.

ANTAYA FOUNDATION for Science & Technology

STEM: Science. Technology. Engineering. Mathematics.

food on fifth

recipes from a food stylists kitchen

Indie Ashley

Musings from the mind of an independent author, druid, and mother.

Rose B. Fischer

Author. Artist. Evil Genius.

Avoiding Neverland

A teacher's reflections on preparing teens for life

The Holborn

A Well Made Life

Official Two Moors Festival Blog

Find out about the latest news from the Two Moors Festival here!

Dog Breath Photography Blog

Life is Better With a Little Dog Breath

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

ListenToGoodMusic

My Experience of Music

gonerustic

by rita summers

Broadside

Smart and surprising

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Jason Lyon's Jazz Site

Articles, Lessons, Transcriptions, Thoughts and Rants...

The Every-Other-Day Study "Abroad" Blog

Tri- (but sometimes quad) weekly continuity of blogging for a semester in the city that never sleeps

